DIY FOREST CHRISTMAS ORNAMENTS 

So here’s a sad story – I’m broke. This potential narcolepsy diagnosis has made work impossible for me (I woke up on the floor next to my bed this morning, for example). So what I’ve been doing to fill my day so I don’t go even more Jack Torrance is crafting and art and photography and writing. Although often some DIY project I find on Pinterest is cost prohibitive, I’ve learned how to improvise. 

So here’s what you’ll need for this project;

  • Fake moss, 2 or 3 types
  • Gold pebbles (or any sort of glittery little filler for glass table decor)
  • Edging/trim: I found this beautiful trim at Jo Ann Fabrics. You could also use ribbon for this.
  • Craft glue
  • Sparkle or frost spray. I choose iridescent glitter dust, but you can be creative here.
  • Masking tape (optional)
  • Ornament hooks (honestly I might just end up using more of that cute trim.)

Step 1:

Open the ornament and add in a mixture of different types of moss. You’re going for a foresty, terrarium look, here, so you can add in a little fake snow at the end if you like. I thought the iridescent spray was subtle but nice.


Step 2:

After you have the moss the way you like it, add in the gold chips. You could also use wood chips or seed pearls or something else that’s tiny and seasonal. But remember, it has to fit through the little opening at the top.


At this point, the ornament should look something like this:


Very woodsy. Time to give it a little scarf. Take your trim or ribbon and tie it around the middle, making sure to glue it at intervals so it doesn’t budge. Then tie a nice bow in the front. This is the edging I chose for one of the two I made:


Almost finished! Now you can spray it with the glitter or frost. For one of them I just sprayed the entire top, but for the second I masked out a star shape:


I used washi tape for this instead of masking tape because it’s so thin and easy to peel off. Remind me to tell you about my love for washi tape sometime.

Wait for the spray to dry, and peel off the tape and voila, you’re done!  This is the first of a few cheap and easy DIY projects I’ll be posting all month. Stay tuned and stay posi! You’ve got this.


Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

